You are here

Diploma Requirements

Conditions for the award of the IB diploma

Source: General regulations: Diploma Programme. IBO April 2014.

Article 12: Grades
Performance in each subject is graded on a scale of 7 points (maximum) down to 1 point (minimum). Performance in theory of knowledge and the extended essay are each graded on a scale of A (maximum) to E (minimum). The CAS requirement is not assessed. For the IB Diploma, a maximum of 3 points is awarded for combined performance in theory of knowledge and the extended essay. The maximum total DP points score is 45.



Article 13: Award of the IB diploma

13.1 All assessment components for each of the six subjects and the additional Diploma requirements must be completed in order to qualify for the award of the IB Diploma, except under the conditions stipulated in articles 18 and 19 of these regulations.

13.2 The IB Diploma will be awarded to a candidate provided all the following requirements have been met.

a. CAS requirements have been met.

b. The candidate’s total points are 24 or more.

c. There is no “N” awarded for theory of knowledge, the extended essay or for a contributing subject.

d. There is no grade E awarded for theory of knowledge and/or the extended essay.

e. There is no grade 1 awarded in a subject/level.

f. There are no more than two grade 2s awarded (HL or SL).

g. There are no more than three grade 3s or below awarded (HL or SL).

h. The candidate has gained 12 points or more on HL subjects (for candidates who register for four HL subjects, the three highest grades count).

i. The candidate has gained 9 points or more on SL subjects (candidates who register for two SL subjects must gain at least 5 points at SL).

j. The candidate has not received a penalty for academic misconduct from the Final Award Committee.

13.3 A maximum of three examination sessions is allowed in which to satisfy the requirements for the award of the IB Diploma. The examination sessions need not be consecutive.